Hubbard Free Library
About the Hubbard Free Library
The Hubbard Free Library is housed in the oldest library building in Maine still serving
its original function. Designed by local architect Alexander C. Currier to look like
an English country church, the library was dedicated in March, 1880, as the
Hallowell Social Library. In 1893 General Thomas H. Hubbard of New York City,
a Hallowell native, donated $20,000 for the construction of a free library.
The money was used to build an addition to the existent building, in the form
of a cross-axial transept, in keeping with the original church design, and the
library became the Hubbard Free Library. A second addition was added in 1897,
with money donated by Mrs. Eliza Lowell of Hallowell.
On the National Register of Historic Places since 1970, with an impressive collection of historic artifacts and archival materials, the library today is also a vibrant and much-cherished participant in the life of the communities it serves.
Overseen by a 15-member Board of Trustees, the library receives partial funding from the city of Hallowell and the town of Chelsea; residents of these communities may have free library cards. All others must pay a yearly non-resident fee of $40. The Town of Farmingdale will reimburse its residents for one card per family.
The library has three desktop computers and one ibook laptop computer available for public use, contingent upon observance of the library's Computer Use Policy. It also has wireless connectivity.
Adult and children's programming is presented throughout the year, including a Children's Story and Craft Hour for 2-5 year olds (younger and older siblings welcome), Wednesday mornings, 10:30-11:30. There is also a Summer Reading Program for children pre-school thru sixth grade.
Staff includes a director, and five part-time staff, who all wear many hats, though each has his or her special area of expertise.
Staff: Melody Norman-Camp - Director